Navayuga East Zone Corporate Golf Cup: Lakhi Swain, Satyajyoti Mohanty emerge winners

Sports State


Lakhi Swain emerged champion in Handicap category 19-24, while Vinayak Jamwal got the runners-up award in the 14th Navayuga East Zone Corporate Golf Cup-2019 tournament, organized by the Bhubaneswar Golf Club in association with Navayuga here today.

In Handicap category 0-18, Satyajyoti Mohanty got the winner’s trophy while the runners-up trophy went to Ranjit Singh.

Dalbir Singh got best gross scorer prize.

Z Estates and Singh Automotives emerged winner and runners-up respectively in corporate sectors.

Raunaushka Jena bagged the best lady golfer award while Prashant Maurya won the best outstation golfer award.

Earlier in the morning, Odisha Sports & Youth Services Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera inaugurated the tournament in presence of State Development Commissioner Asit Tripathy and other dignitaries.

Inaugurating the tournament, Minister Behera said, “I am very happy with the efforts of BGC for organizing this type of spectacular tournament in the temple city of Odisha.”

Speaking on the occasion, Development Commissioner Tripathy who is also the President of  the Bhubaneswar Golf Club said, “Odisha government is taking a lot of initiatives to make sports popular among the youth. Many of our neighboring states have taken initiatives to develop world class Golf course and now it is the time for us to develop an international Golf course here at Bhubaneswar.” We are looking for a suitable land to create a fully furnished Golf course in the state, he added.

Players from as many as 25 government and corporate sectors including OTDC, TINPLATE Co. Ltd., JASS Solutions, Z Estates Pvt. Ltd., Toyota, Utkal Automobiles Pvt. Ltd., IMFA, Singh Automotives, IDCO, ACE Commercial Co Pvt. Ltd., TATA Steel Limited, ESSKAY Machineries, Suryo Udyog Ltd., SRB Associates, Golden Anchor, Adani Dhamra Port, ACRUX, East Cost Railway, OBPOO Solutions Pvt. Ltd., Milk Mantra, Mahanadi Coal Fields Ltd., PJ Minerals International Pvt. Ltd., Royale Hotel Pvt. Ltd. and  Paradip Port Trust participated in the mega tournament.

Tripathy thanked Rajib Sekhar Sahoo, Convener, Corporate Golf Tournament; Tapan Mohanty, Secretary, Bhubaneswar Golf Club; Dalbir Singh, Captain, Bhubaneswar Golf Club; and Ishan De Souza, Tiger Sports Marketing for successfully organising the tournament.

The Bhubaneswar Golf Club is the city’s premier Golf Club with a 9-hole course and there is plan to develop it into a full-fledged 18-hole Golf course in future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *