Dialysis facilities soon at DHHs: Health Minister Jena


Bhubaneswar, March 10

Dialysis facilities will be provided to chronic kidney disease patients free of cost in every district headquarters hospitals in Odisha, said State Health Minister Pratap Kumar Jena here today.

Inaugurating the South Asian Conference on Nephrology he said the State Government has decided to provide free dialysis facilities to (chronic kidney disease (CKD) patients in each district head quarter hospitals.

In this regard, the government has started work in 15 district head quarter hospitals, he added.

The main cause of kidney disease is non communicable disease like high blood pressure and diabetic, Jena said adding, the government has started NCD programme in 15 districts for screening of NCD patients.

These patients will be provided treatment and medicines free of cost. Education and health are the top priority of every developing society, said Soumyaranjan Patnaik, Editor of leading Odia daily Sambad.

He said, “Environment has great impact on our health. We should take care of our environment. We should not destroy our natural environment in the name of development.”

Dr SC Dash Professor Emirates and Chairman, Organizing committee of the conference gave the welcome address while KIMS Principal Prof. Jyotin Dash proposed the vote of thanks.

KIIT VC Prof HK Mohanty presided over the conference.

Renowned nephrologists of Bangladesh Prof. Harun Rashid, Prof Risi Kafle from Nepal, Prof. Sandeep Guleria, Lt. Gen. Dr PP Verma, Prof. Sudhir Kulkarni, Prof Ashok Kriplani, Prof Dr RK Sharma, Prof. Dilip Pahari, Dr. Manjuri Sharma, Dr. Shribhushan Raja, Dr. DS Ray, Prof. Amit Gupta, Dr. N Sarat Kumar, Prof Nandita Choudhury, Dr AP Patnaik, Prof Om Kumar, Dr PK Sahoo, Dr SC Mahakud, Dr SB Rout, Dr Saoubhik Saran and Dr KC Mohanty participated in the deliberations.

Among others Saswati Bal, President, KIIT & KISS and many faculties and students of KIMS were also present at the inauguration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *