38th All India Major Ports Cricket C’ship: Paradip, Mumbai enter semifinals



Paradip Port Trust and Mumbai Port Trust entered the semifinals of the 38th All India Major Port Cricket Championship being held at Gopabandhu Stadium here.

On the 3rd day of the championship, host Paradip Port Trust (PPT) defeated VO Chidambaram Port Trust by 98 runs to enter the semifinal round. Electing to bat first, PPT – riding on the unbeaten half century (82 off 57 balls) by Suryakanta Jena – scored 185 for six wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Chasing 186 for victory, VO Chidambarnar batsmen were unable to withstand the bowling attack of PPT and put up a disappointing total of 87 for 9. Manas Sethi got 3 wickets while Mrutyunjaya Swain bagged 2 wickets for PPT.

In the second match of the day, Mumbai Port beat Kolkata Port by six wickets to register their place in the semifinals. Batting first, Kolkata scored 146 at the loss of 8 wickets in stipulated 20 overs. In reply, Mumbai Port reached the target in 17.4 overs, scoring 148 for 4. Ajinkya Patil of Mumbai Port once again played a fine knock scoring 78 runs off 50 balls and played a vital role in the victory of the team.

JNPT will meet Visakhapatnam and Kolkata will take on Goa Port tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *